2013 Reading List

2013 Reading List

So this is a little late, and probably of less interest to the readership than my usual book reviews, but I want to get a list of titles down to reduce aimless confusion time at the library. As a bonus, I can check this later and shake my head sadly at all the failures. Good times. So in no particular order, with occasional commentary, this is my list of Stuff I Oughta Get Through This Year. (Note: I will add links as these get written up.) I may add or subtract to this list as the year marches on.

Tad Williams – Memory, Sorrow and Thorn
This is an easy one, since I’m already almost done with Book Two.

Peter F. Hamilton – Night’s Dawn Trilogy (Or at least some of it)
This just seems like something any self-respecting space opera buff would have read.

Iain M. Banks – At least one novel, probably Excession. Possibly more.
I am making my way through the Culture, roughly one book per year.

Steven Erikson – Whatever is next in the Malazan books. I think number five.

Eric Brown – The first of whatever series I can get my hands on. My library branch only has sequels. Boo.

Bradley Beaulieu – The Winds of Khalakovo

CJ Cherryh – Finish Cyteen. Probably read something else Alliance-Union as well, though her books are so heavy. It takes a certain fortitude to dive in.

Something in Japanese. I will likely start with The Girl Who Leaped Through Time, but I’ve got some more ambitious stuff on the shelf.

Haruki Murakami – IQ84
This has been sitting on the shelf far too long. It may jump off and attack me soon if I don’t read it.

Some classics: Heinlein, Anderson, Aldiss, Silverberg, etc. I’ve got a bunch of college syllabus type stuff waiting for me.

Something by Walter Jon Williams.

More LE Modesitt Jr., Stephen Baxter

Charlie Stross – Iron Sunrise, Rapture of the Nerds

China Mieville – The next Bas Lag books.

Mike Resnick – I should really finish the Starship series, and maybe something else. I’ve only been picking at the first for about four years now.

17 thoughts on “2013 Reading List

  1. What do you know about James White and his books? 1970s and 80s stuff mostly. I picked up about 15 of them the other day–the books have the 1980s feel about them, and the cover art smacks of 1970s even more. I’m curious if anyone has read him, and what he/she/they think about his work.
    As for my reading list, I’m still working my way through the Gormenghast trilogy, along with Gene Wolfe’s Book of the New Sun. I’m convinced those two works are twins separated at birth by evil literary agents, and when I’ve finished and absorbed them, I hope to do a review/essay/hack job on the two of them in these hallowed pages, Pep’s genial forbearance permitting the same.

    • I feel like White’s name has come up in conversation before, but I can’t think of where. He sounds familiar, though I haven’t read any. I guess you can toss anything in a box that you don’t put up for sale, and I’ll give them a read next time I see you. Or you can try one and post about it – guest articles still welcome!

  2. You’ve certainly got some doorstoppers on that list. Night’s Dawn alone is what, 3,000 pages? I can’t trust myself to say anything without spoilers, so I’ll pop back as and when. Likewise the Bas Lag books.

    I’m seriously considering a Culture re-read. Heading back to Blighty in the summer and if I can work out which gaps I actually need to fill it might be a goer. it’s been so long since I actually read a proper book twice. Excession has the funny ships, iirc. Everyone like the funny ships.

    Give us a head’s up on the 1Q84 and I might try to co-ordinate my attempt at it. If you’re into that sort of thing, of course. An no comment on the Tsutsui😉

    • I did not realize the page count on this wish list until you and Jay mentioned it. Uh-oh. I’m not actually going to read all of Night’s Dawn this year – just the first book. Or maybe the first book of the first book. I need to get through all of Banks’ stuff for the first time.

      I am intrigued by the IQ84 group read idea. We could probably shanghai Carl V as well, and no doubt some others in the village we find ourselves a part of. Maybe early summer?

      • That’s not a half-bad idea. As I said, I’ll be visiting the folks probably late July-early August, but June-ish could definitely work. Might finally be the spur I need to actually open the book instead of cowering from it slightly every time I walk past the shelf.

      • I’ll bounce this off a couple people and see who would be in. It could be fun! I have this tendency though of sinking into Murakami’s realities and not coming back for awhile. Could be dangerous.

      • I read the first book of the first book of Night’s Dawn at the end of last year. Great book, though it took me a while to get through it.

  3. You have some big ones there. Some of them I have. I read quite a few big books last year, but I do enjoy going through a shorter book now and then. Makes me feel like I’ve accomplished more.

    I’ve been meaning to buy some of the Culture series. Surprisingly, I have none of his books.

    • See my response to kamo.😦 I’m just realizing how long some of these books are. Yikes.

      One thing about being back in the States: I have a library!!! Dunno how I survived Japan. Even in Kyoto it’s hard to come across affordable English books.

      • I know what you mean. I’m lucky to have access to 3 bookstores in Tokyo with large English sections, a couple with large sci-fi and fantasy sections.

  4. Some great books on that list – like Tad William and Walter Jon Williams (who I met at a convention briefly last year – he was very nice). And you have several authors on that list that I have been meaning to read for some time (Mieville, Cherryh, Banks, and Hamilton). Looking forward to your reviews.

  5. Please tell me your more ambitious Japanese reads. I am onto the final pages of 大江健三郎の性的人間 and it is very difficult with a capital D. Interesting though. Not as crude as you would think, but more of a Dostoevskian type portrayal of the dark side of humans as they stumble through life. His vocabulary range is huge and there is furigana everywhere, so a hard read for a native even?

    Up until recently I have stuck with light reading, self-help books and non-fiction due to their higher readability; however I took the plunge a few months ago and have been reading literature. I definitely don’t regret it.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Oe in the original sounds beastly. I enjoyed Quiet Life (in English), but haven’t read anything else.

      My Japanese SF library is somewhat limited at the moment, but I think my next project might be Kamigari (神狩り) by Yamada Masaki. I also have half of a Gundam novel and assorted Yumemakura Baku books requesting my attention in a passive-aggressive sort of way.

Leave a Reply

