Tagging Game

A Tagging Game

That’s not a book title, though maybe it should be. I was sort of tagged by Nathan at the Fantasy Review Barn, so I will answer some random questions about myself. And no, this has nothing to do with today currently sitting at one lone hit for the blog and no, I am not trying to drum up traffic with senseless click bait.

FOUR NAMES THAT PEOPLE CALL ME (OTHER THAN MY REAL NAME)

1. Pep – The blog name was chosen as an obscure European football joke. My namesake is now blowing things up at Bayern Munich.
2. Brit – My real name is too long for some people, so Brittain becomes Brit.
3. Baba-chan – Japanese people have an awful time with my given name, so they instead murder my last name and call me a homonym for “old woman.”
4. All sorts of awful, gender-bending and/or pronunciation challenged permutations of what my parents allegedly thought was an easy name to say.

FOUR JOBS THAT I HAVE HAD

1. Potato factory assembly line worker – Not much available in E. Idaho for temp work during college breaks, so I did a fair amount of time at various brainless positions. “Good potato, bad potato…”
2. Credit card collections agency plebe – My main tasks included sending form letters to the families of deceased or bankrupt people reminding them how much money they owed the credit card. Also bagel runs.
3. English teacher at Rust Belty Japanese JHS – This surprises the Japanese as well, but there are bad schools with delinquent kids even in Japan. More than one of my students left in a police car. Fewer drugs and less violence than US bad schools, but a challenge nonetheless. Also one of my favorite jobs thus far.
4. Janitor in the university PE building – Didn’t last long here, waking up at 4 to vacuum weight room floors and clean gym toilets.

FOUR MOVIES I HAVE WATCHED MORE THAN ONCE

1. Star Wars – Of course I have.
2. Princess Mononoke – Or any Studio Ghibli movie, but this is my favorite.
3. So I Married an Axe Murderer – Underrated classic.
4. UHF – Weird Al forever.

FOUR BOOKS I’D RECOMMEND

I believe I have now written four “Best of ….” articles, from years 2011 – 2014, so that’s a place to start.

FOUR PLACES I HAVE LIVED

1. Idaho Falls, Idaho – While born in Salt Lake, most of my growing up was in this placid hamlet.
2. Logan, UT – Utah State, Hey! Aggies all the way! Go Aggies, Go Aggies, hey hey hey!
3. Sendai, Japan – First two years in Japan were spent in and around Sendai. At least one former apartment was flattened by the tsunami in 2011, so I’m a bit emotionally involved in the area.
4. Kyoto, Japan – Best city in the world, after Seattle (current home). UNESCO sites during the day, good food from anywhere in the world for dinner, and a great music/nightlife scene until the dawn. Aside from stifling summers, I’d move back in a heartbeat.

FOUR PLACES I HAVE BEEN

1. Mt. Fear (Osore-zan) – A haunted, mystical spot in Northern Japan, famous for hot springs and communing with spirits. Smells terrible and the only hotel is run by a crazy, but friendly and entertaining, older couple.
2. Borneo – Loved it. Best trip of my life.
3. Ina, Nagano, Japan – Wife’s hometown. Not a place that any foreign tourist would ever go.
4. Ummm, Las Cruces, NM? – I had all the luck on college band trips. Reno, NV multiple times (yuck), Birmingham, AL, Anaheim (at least it’s SoCal?), and lovely Las Cruces.

FOUR PLACES I’D RATHER BE RIGHT NOW

1. In outer space – Doesn’t matter where, but in space. My ultimate dream is to leave Earth.
2. Japan – Always love being there. I may or may not move back in the future, but life is instantly happier when I step off the plane. (Of course, I moved to Seattle once I stopped feeling that way about Japan.)
3. I’m actually running out of ideas here.

FOUR THINGS I DON’T EAT

1. Natto – Fermented soy beans that smell like cheese crapped out of a cow. My wife loves the stuff.
2. Onions – Well, I eat them a lot I guess, but I don’t like them!
3. Small, whole fish – Sorry, I don’t eat heads and eyeballs.
4. Rocky Mountain Oysters – Haven’t tried them though, so maybe they’re delicious?

FOUR OF MY FAVORITE FOODS

1. Potatoes (I’m from Idaho)
2. Chocolate
3. BBQ (KC style)
4. Tonkotsu Ramen (pork-based soup)

FOUR THINGS THAT I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS YEAR

1. Seattle summer – Best city in the world in summer. Last year we camped at least seven times.
2. Japan – Probably going back for a week, since the last trip involved a funeral and wasn’t fun at all.
3. Gigs – My main band has been rebuilding over the winter, but will start playing out again next week. There hasn’t been enough music in my life.
4. HS Reunion – It’s the big 20 Year in Idaho Falls this summer. Oh my.

FOUR TV SHOWS THAT I’VE WATCHED…

1. Mystery Science Theater 3000
2. Sports
3. Sports
4. Um…., more sports? We’re not a big TV family.

FOUR THINGS I AM ALWAYS SAYING

1. Indeed – This has become a running joke in the family: “Indeeeed, says dad.”
2. Nandeyanen – Versatile bit of Osaka dialect. Roughly, “What are you talking about?”
3. Drive stupid – Pops out of my mouth with disappointing regularity.
4. I am out of catch phrases. Someone else can probably answer this better than I can.

FOUR PEOPLE I TAG

Too lazy. No tagging.

7 thoughts on “Tagging Game

  1. I say indeed A TON. 4 year old hates it, not sure my wife is a big fan either. And click bait? I totally didn’t just toss together another link roundup for hits. I would NEVER do that and set it to hit later in the day.

      • Entitle a post ‘the 25 hottest authors.’ Then once they click, nothing but Jim C Heines doing cover poses. If you are lucky it will be the new rick-rolling of the generation, a link to two dudes.

    • “This is called the artificial horizon, because it’s better than the real one.”
      Wait, that might be from MST3k “Master Ninja,” not the guy in the airplane who confesses, “Actually I have no concept of time.” These are blurring together in my head.

      That said, I did a high school group presentation of Longfellow poetry read in the beat style, and we threw in “This poem … sucks?” at the end. A’s all around.

Leave a Reply

