Favorite Books of 2016

Favorite Books of 2016

I’m on a roll! No telling how long these posts will keep coming, but here’s my Top 10 for 2016. Since I read 33 SFF books, this year’s list is roughly one third of everything. Maybe not the most selective I’ve ever done. Note that some blurbs were lifted whole from a post I put up a month or two ago. Don’t hate me for efficiency.

Uprooted – Naomi Novik
This ticked three boxes for me: Hugo nominee, female author, and somebody new. I loved the book, especially the way her protagonist eschews conflict as a means of resolution. We need more stories where the solution isn’t just to beat up bad guys. I also really liked the main characters, especially the relationship between teacher and student.

Europe in Autumn – Dave Hutchinson
Part near-future thriller, part spy novel, part hard SF, Hutchinson’s book consistently denies convention. Every time I thought I had a handle on things, he’d switch it all up and totally scramble my expectations. This is one of the most creative things I’ve read in years and I can’t wait to read more. Also, the European setting is a nice change from all the America-centric stuff that we get.

The Half-Made World Duology – Felix Gilman
I guess the kids these days call this “Weird West.” It’s sort of China Mieville meets John Wayne, but much better than that sounds on the surface. Gilman’s second book is lighter than the first, which can get pretty heavy at times. Taken together though, this is one of the more inventive creations I’ve seen lately. The Line and The Gun will stick with me.

The Red Trilogy – Linda Nagata
This is hard-hitting, near future military SF that everyone should read. The books are fairly short and go quickly; I tore through all three this year. Nagata combines the action and characters of standard mil SF with the cynicism and vague dystopia of cyberpunk, powering everything with an emerging AI narrative. It’s never quite what I expected, but hits all the satisfying beats of thrillers and hard SF.

The Grace of Kings – Ken Liu
My biggest blog regret of 2016 is not writing about Liu’s opening salvo. It is a brilliant book and packed full of things to talk about, especially in my political wheelhouse. Maybe I’ll get to it this year, or maybe I’ll just roll everything into a discussion of the next book in the series, which glowers at me from the library shelves. It looks heavy.

Gene Mapper – Fujii Taiyo
As I said in an earlier post, this is near the top of my Best Japanese SF list. Flawed, especially in the too-quick ending, but with a great setup and very plausible future. Updated cyberpunk from Japan – basically the best thing ever for me.

The Traitor Baru Cormorant – Seth Dickinson
Brutal, gut-punching book. I love it as an unflinching look at empire and colonialism, but it’s really hard to take that ending. Necessary, I think, but very difficult to read and process. Dickinson absolutely has to come through with the next books in the series to justify what he’s doing. I’m in line for volume two though.

City of Blades – Robert Bennett
City of Stairs was my favorite book from a couple of years ago, so I was excited to read the sequel. Blades didn’t pack quite the punch of the first, but was still one of the best books I’ve seen this year. The broader questions of conquest and empire are still at the center of the story, along with the dead gods and the messed up societies they left behind, all coming together to make these books one of the most intriguing and original series out there.

The Dark Forest – Liu Cixin
I reviewed this early in 2016, one of my last in-depth pieces before getting crushed by life. It definitely has its quirks, and must be taken on its own uncompromising terms, but there are parts that gave me chills. Can’t wait for more!

One thought on “Favorite Books of 2016

  1. You have some good books there. I love Nagata and get to be one of the cool kids who said he was reading her self-published work before Saga grabbed her back up. So HA. And Half-Made World! I don’t read fan fiction but if someone writes a whole series involving The Gun and The Line I may pick it up.

    Don’t agree with The Traitor Baru Cormorant. I consider the ending an insult to surprise endings. I felt it was a giant middle finger to a reader who followed along due to the first person narrative. But that is just one man’s opinion.

Leave a Reply

